Fridays & Food

Fridays & Food

burger_clip_art_13578

 

So Fridays around here will be a little different (every other Friday at least).  The plan is to post my meal plan for the next two weeks and include one recipe.  I generally shop on Fridays and so, by default, I usually meal plan that day too, because I mean, who is proactive and actually does things ahead of time?  Yeah, me either.  So without further ado, the plan:

  1. Creamy Enchiladas
  2. Chicken Alfredo
  3. Black Beans, Rice, & Turkey Kielbasa
  4. Beef Hot Dogs & Fries
  5. Sloppy Joes & Chips
  6. Spaghetti & Meat Sauce
  7. Crockpot Roast, Baked Sweet Potatoes, & Rice
  8. Cheeseburger Sliders
  9. Crockpot Creamy Chicken Stew
  10. Chinese Chicken & Fried “Rice” (aka Quinoa)
  11. Slow Cooker Angel Pork Chops
  12. Best Baked Chicken Legs

So, let me just say, YES my family does eat veggies, I just don’t put them on the menu because generally they are the steamable bags and I just grab whatever tickles my fancy for that day (since it will be a battle for my two olders no matter what vegetable I choose *eye roll*).  Also, YES, they eat a lot of pasta/rice/carbs.  They’re fine and perfectly healthy, plus, sometimes they try to eat goldfish off the floor in public places, so I feel like its okay.  Not to mention, its easy y’all.  Sorry not sorry.  Also, this list is not in the order we will be eating the meals, I just sort of wing it based on what we have planned on specific days and the time I will have to cook that day (i.e.: crockpot meals for busier days, no-fuss meals for days we need to eat in a hurry, etc).

Moving on, the recipe I’m sharing this week is Cheeseburger Sliders.  I’ll put a picture up later (making these bad boys tonight!) but these are SO good.  Every person in my family loves these and eats them without a fuss!  Little Red calls them “baby cheeseburgers” and he also loves to help make them!  I love them because its easy enough to let him help and there’s really not much of a chance that he will destroy my whole kitchen.

Cheeseburger Sliders

1 lb. Lean Ground Beef

1/8 C. Seasoned Bread Crumbs (I usually use Italian)

1/4 C. Finely Chopped Onions (If you have whiners, make sure they are FINELY chopped or leave out)

1 Tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce

Pinch of salt

4 Slices of Cheese (Not the processed stuff, y’all.  We like American or Colby Jack)

1 Pack of King’s Hawaiian Sweet Dinner Rolls

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Combine beef, onion, breadcrumbs, Worcestershire sauce and salt in a bowl.  I usually use my hands to mix because, YOLO.
  3. Gently press ground beef mixture into a glass pan (I usually use a Pyrex 9×11″) and poke with a fork several times.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes.
  5. Remove from oven and drain off excess fat from the dish.
  6. Top with cheese slices and return to oven until cheese is melted.
  7. Remove again, Cut into small squares and serve.

The possibilities really are endless.  You can top with ketchup, mayo, lettuce, mustard.  The ball is in your court.  Its like the deliciousness of a real cheeseburger without the grill and mosquito bites (I live in Florida, for crying out loud!).

I hope your family enjoys this recipe as much as mine has!  Also, we’re headed out the door to Aldi… hashtag Jesus take the wheel.

May your meal plans be many and your grocery bill be small,

Autumn

Leave a Reply

