Fridays & Food

Fridays & Food

Ok so when I used to hear someone talk about cooking a roast, um, barf.  Seriously.  I’m not a huge red meat lover but I used to despise any form of roast or steak.  Thankfully, I found this recipe which allows me to branch out from chicken, turkey, or ground beef.  My poor kids.  Speaking of kids, they actually LOVE this too (even my youngest!) not to mention it is SO easy because you just throw it in the crockpot in the morning and let it cook all day so that you have your main dish already prepared and only have to worry about sides (have I mentioned my love for those steamable bags of veggies?!).  I usually do some kind of savory rice (will be sharing my recipe for homemade “rice-a-roni” sometime in the future!), a vegetable of some sort and maybe some biscuits or buttered toast.  So without further ado, the roast recipe from the heavens:

Savory Crockpot Roast

1 Chuck Roast (I look for the most marbled one I can find; they tend to come out the most tender)

1 packet of Italian Dressing Mix

1 packet of Ranch Dressing Mix

1 packet of Reduced Sodium Brown Gravy Mix

1 small chopped onion (I just chop in large pieces so theyre easy to pick around)

3/4 C. Water

  • Place roast in crock pot.
  • Add onion.
  • ,Mix the Ranch mix, Italian Dressing Mix, and Gravy Mix into the 3/4 C. water.
  • Pour mixture over roast/onion.
  • Turn crockpot on LOW for 8 hours and let it do its thang.
  • Serve at mealtime to your ravenous family.

I hope your family enjoys this as much as mine does and I hope that you enjoy NOT having that last minute dinner scramble with small children running under foot as much as I do, as well!

 

All Roast & no regrets,

Autumn

Leave a Reply

